Skip to page content.



rword 2014


5th Annual

Spread the Word


End the Word


Let's Stop! No More R Word!


NO R WORD Presentations

Elementary Presentations: 48

Middle/High School Presentations: 28

Total Students: 4265

Total Schools: 26

NO R WORD Contests

Essays Submitted: 163

Posters Submitted: 603

Bulletin Boards Submitted: 17


2014 No R Word Bulletin Board Contest Winners

West Louisville Elementary

West L'ville

Burns Middle School

Burns Middle

Daviess County High School


School Bulletin Board Honorable Mentions

North Hancock Elementary


Owensboro Middle School, South Campus


Apollo High School


2014 No R Word Essay Contest Winners, Grades 7-8

(click on names to read winning essay)

Celine Le

1st place - Celine Le, College View Middle School, Owensboro

Bailey Holmes

2nd place - Bailey Holmes, North Middle School, Henderson

Alayna Fonville

3rd place - Alayna Fonville, College View Middle School, Owensboro


2014 No R Word Essay Contest Winners - Grades 9-12

(click on names to read winning essay)

Cecilia Morris

1st place - Cecilia Morris, Trinity High School, Whitesville

Alli Greer

2nd place - Alli Greer, Trinity High School, Whitesville

Blake Midkiff

3rd place - Blake Midkiff, Trinity High School, Whitesville

2014 No R Word Poster Contest Winners - Grades K-3

Kaylan Ridenhour

1st place - Kaylan Ridenhour, East View Elementary, Owensboro

Mason Wheeler

2nd place - Mason Wheeler, Country Heights Elementary, Owensboro

Kierra Nunn

3rd place - Kierra Nunn, AB Chandler Elementary, Corydon


2014 No R Word Poster Contest Winners - Grades 4-6

Falyn Stokes

1st place - Falyn Stokes, North Hancock Elementary, Lewisport

Alayna Petri

2nd place - Alayna Petri, Daviess County Middle, Owensboro

Ava Herren

3rd place - Ava Herren, AB Chandler Elementary, Corydon


2014 No R Word Poster Contest Winners - Grades 9-12

Lacy Rojewski

1st place - Lacy Rojewski, McLean County High, Calhoun

Tiana Phelps

2nd place - Tiana Phelps, Owensboro High, Owensboro

Victoria Swihart

3rd place - Victoria Swihart, Owensboro High, Owensboro


Thank you to the following school districts and colleges who participated in this year's 2014 No R Word Campaign!

Daviess County Public Schools: Apollo High; Audubon Elementary; Burns Elementary; Burns Middle (TOP program); College View Middle; Country Heights Elementary, Daviess Co. Middle; Daviess Co. High; East View Elementary; Sorgho Elementary; St. Mary's of the Woods; Trinity High School; West Louisville Elementary

Hancock County Public Schools: Hancock Co. High; North Hancock Elementary; South Hancock Elementary

Henderson County Public Schools: AB Chandler Elementary; Niagara Elementary; North Middle School

McLean County Public Schools: McLean Co. High School

Muhlenberg County Public Schools: Muhlenberg Co. High - West

Ohio County Public Schools: Southern Elementary; Wayland Alexander Elementary

Owensboro Public Schools: Cravens Elementary; Estes Elementary; Newton Parrish Elementary; Owensboro High School

Local Colleges: Owensboro Community and Technical College; Kentucky Wesleyan College



815 Triplett Street
P.O. Box 1668
Owensboro, Kentucky 42303
PHONE | 270-683-4517
TOLL FREE | 877-932-2678